Direktlänk till inlägg 7 december 2012

It has been a while.....

Av Tina Karlsson - 7 december 2012 08:26

since my last entry. After the competition I have started to slowly bring him down in his condition, du to the coming winter. Without Indoor arena we have to adjust our sessions according to weather conditions. Two days after the competition Dinio got a severe gas cholic and I had to bring the emergency vet. This time the cause seemed to be that Dinio had eaten something in his paddock, cause he had diarrea several days efter the treatment. So I had to buy Colicure. After a few days with this treatment Dinio was well in his stomach. A tip from Helen in Spain was to reduce the amount of hay as well and exchange some of it with straw. Did so and it seemed to be the trick. But at the end of October he got another cholic again. Hm! Reduced his hay once again. During November two cholics which I could relate to the change in the weather. But in general the reduce of hay has resulted in feaces that have never looked better and his baloon stomach are shown more seldom. I have also reduced his time spent in his paddock, from 6 to 3 hours. He is very sensitive to change in the weather conditions and there for I also bought a complete new set of rugs. Now he is having the warmest and best rugs ever!!

This Monday the snow arrived. Completely snow chaos! I think it dropped about a half meter of snow in one day. This Tuesday the temperature dropped and I decided to let Dinio inside the stable during the hole day. Took him out for a ride during the evening. He was so alert and played with me. Yesterday the temperature was better, only -1 degrees and he stayed in his paddock for about 3 hours. And yesterday evening it was time again for a minor gas cholic. Probably he had been eaten snow, but I can't be sure of course.

I think that Dinio is an extremely sensitive horse and has still not adjusted to the life in Sweden, if he ever will do so. And that I have to live with this and to be on top of things around him all of the time. But he is worth it!! Adding a picture from yesterday evening when Dinio was coming out of his cholic condition.

   


 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Tina Karlsson - 25 maj 2016 09:34


Long time since my last entry, but better late than never.... During Autumn/Winter 2015--2016 we have trained and trained and trained. We should have done our debut in mid-level dressage during Autumn 2015 but Dinio got a hoof injury so that ended th...

Av Tina Karlsson - 17 december 2015 11:36

2015 is soon over and a new year is ahead of us. 2015 has been a good year, both for Dinio and me. We have worked and trained better than ever. We have participated in 3 competitions with 2 placings. The plan to start mid-level-competitions during th...

Av Tina Karlsson - 8 november 2015 10:43


Well, November is here and the days are getting shorter and shorter for every day that passes bye. Soon it is dark when you leave home for work in the mornings and dark when you leave work for home in the evenings. This means that from now Dinio and ...

Av Tina Karlsson - 13 augusti 2015 10:11

During autumn 2014 I moved Dinio to a new stable. Here we have better training possibilities and better service, which Dinio needs due to his stomach problems. Gladly I can say that his problems has gon away. Just some few colics during this summer (...

Av Tina Karlsson - 30 april 2014 10:49


It has been a while since my last entry. The winter has passed and the spring is finally here. For the first time, since Dinio came to me, I have been able to train him during the hole winter. An indoor arena is an fantastic asset, especially up here...

Skapa flashcards