Alla inlägg under oktober 2011

Av Tina Karlsson - 30 oktober 2011 19:18

Sadly Dinio got a minor gas cholic again, last thursday evening. It appeared after our session and was soon over. Left the stable around 23.00 hrs. I have noticed earlier that my smart horse has learned how to eat fast from a hay net with small squares (4 by 4 cm). When I started to feed him with this for about 3 weeks ago, it really slowed down his way of feeding. So now I have to think of another way to slow his feeding down a bit. I have also noticed that while he is feeding outdoor he feeds slowly. probably because there is so much to look at and to observe. After a lot of thinking I am now trying this:

Increased the morning hay from 2,5 kg to 3 kg. (feeding outdoor at 06.30)

Increased the luncheon hay from 2 kg to 3 kg. (feeding outdoor at 11.00)

At 14.00 hrs feeding 1 kg outdoor. After finishing this serving mash indoor.

At 16.00 hrs feeding 1 kg indoor, spread along the floor. Tested this during the weekend and this is slowing him down.

At 18.00 hrs - his dayly exercise.

At 19.30 hrs - 1 kg of hay spread along the floor

At 21.30 hrs - 3.5 kg of hay in a slow feeding hay net.

So now I really hope this will do!

Otherwise Friday was a resting day. His was a bit warm in his left front leg and hoof. Saturday he was equaly warm so I decided to give him an easy session and a slow walk around Täljö, which he appreaciated very much. During our session he was just fantastic. Today he was once again more warm in his left front leg, but not much. Once again he was just fantatstic, alert and soft. If the warmth remains I have to check it with a vet.


I really hope this is the last time I am writing about Dinio getting a gas cholic!


Adding a photo from lovely Mid summers day - my darling mother and Dinio - walking together and tasting grass!

 





Av Tina Karlsson - 27 oktober 2011 10:33

Last weekend we enjoyed the forrest, Dinio and I. Quit warm weather for October, about 15 degrees C. Starting to hope for a warm winter. No snow so far and last year it started to snow in the beginning of October. His stomach is working very good and he is becoming more and more energetic. Monday evening session was terrible, Dinio was very strong and full of energy, but then of course, after two day's in the forrest with slow walks, that is quit understandable.

On Wednesday my ferrier arrived and Dinio got wintershoes with snowgrips. So now we are prepared if the snow comes. Yesterday evening session was really OK - still a strong boy with a lot of energy but after a while he relaxed and performed very well. We worked a lot on catching the canter from the walk, which is still a bit of a problem. But he is improving.

Av Tina Karlsson - 19 oktober 2011 19:51

Have to write this down immediately. Have just arrived at home. I am so happy. The tonight session is a session I will live on for a long time. When I arrived to the stable Dinio greated me loudly, looked very happy and alert. I prepared him for our ride and he continously tried to get my attention - he wanted to cuddle and searched for treats. We entered our outdoor arena and it rained a little. There were a lot of water but Dinio didn't bother at all. Right away I felt that he was "home", waited for me and just wanted to do a good nights work. And we started. And how well it went. The transitions just worked perfectly, also the bending, straitghtness and even the transitions to the canter, both from the walk and the trot. He really did perfect canter transistions. And during the hole time, he was soft and light in the hand and waited for me. Yes, this is the best session at home ever! Dinio - You are the best!!

Av Tina Karlsson - 16 oktober 2011 16:30

Well, hello again! I havn't been writing for a while, so here comes a summary of the resent weeks.

I am still treating Dinio for his stomach problems and he is getting better and better. Feels very fine in the work and we are making progress. The autumn is upon us with dark evenings and chilly nights, but no snow so far. Dinio is wearing thick rugs and spends about 7 hours per day in his padock. During the week I work him on our outdoor arena and during the weekends we ride in the nature. Dinio enjoys every minute there.

Last thursday (October 13) we went to Ågesta for our fifth session. Dinio did very well indeed. I am so proud of him. My darling mother joined me and she also took the opportunity to take a video of our session. He is now more straight and the bendings are now starting to work very well. See video on:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hmbj3pAwgE&noredirect=1


Skapa flashcards